People are always looking for a deal.  I’m guilty of it myself.  The new current trends are ‘super couponing’ and price matching.  Nothing alarming here, and there are simple policies in place that we follow.  Regarding animals:  No coupons.  No price matching.  In my world view (which I’m certain is only mine), this policy is in place because THEY ARE LIVING CREATURES with a heartbeat and eyeballs, thus deserving of a nonnegotiable status.
Yesterday a man comes in and looks at the small furries for a minute before I approach him to ask if he has questions.
“How much is your gerbils?”
I reply with the price.
“How much is your guinea pigs?”
Again, I tell him the price.
“Well ______ (local competitor store) has them for less.  Do you price match?”
I explain that we don’t price match animals.
“What about fish?”
“What about that scorpion?”
I repeat that we don’t price match animals.
“What about snakes or lizards?  __________has them for $10.”
I take a deep breath, pondering exactly how insensitive or crass I intend to sound, then make the following statement.  “Sir, ______ does not have a license to sell animals.  They don’t sell living things.   And for clarification, an animal is pretty much any living thing that ISN’T a plant.  We do not price adjust animals.  If you need anymore assistance please let one of us know.”
Some days you just have to politely educate, then shake your head and walk away.

Leave a Reply

